Teachers shine at education awards

Teacher Jennifer Tabur with students holding instruments Jennifer Tabur from Lyneham High School was awarded New Educator of the Year.

Some of Canberra’s teachers, volunteers and school leaders were recently recognised at the 2018 ACT Public Education Awards for contributions to their school communities.

The awards are a celebration of the outstanding achievements of school leaders, teachers, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander education leaders, school support staff and volunteers in the ACT public education system.

This year’s winners included:

  • Education Support Person of the Year: Frank Maynard – Gowrie Primary School – for working tirelessly to create gardens, green sheds, inclusive playgrounds, as well as specialised equipment which helps students engage in meaningful play.
  • Volunteer of the Year: Leah House – Namadgi School – for running a young women's group and a weekly reading group for Aboriginal students, and for assisting with the Namadgi School Indigenous homework club.
  • New Educator of the Year: Jennifer Tabur – Lyneham High School – for her work as musical director of the large band program and co-directing musical productions in 2017 and 2018.
  • Early Childhood Teacher of the Year: Sharon de Rooy – Bonython Primary School – for being an advocate and role model for continual learning, and for her work as part of the Early Learning STEM pilot program.
  • Primary Teacher(s) of the Year: Anthea Theodoridis and Matthew Weickhard - Gordon Primary School – for their work together spearheading a transformation in the social and psychological wellbeing of their students. The established a Friendship Hub and a Rock and Water program to actively build student resilience, and introduced several Bungee Youth Resilience Programs to support students.
  • Secondary Teacher of the Year: Janet Richardson – University of Canberra High School Kaleen – for her contribution to the school and broader community as farm manager of Murnong Farm, which has become a showpiece for excellence in public education.
  • Outstanding Partnership of the Year: Andrew Kingston of Kids Hope Mentoring and Isabella Plains Early Childhood School. Kids Hope is a mentoring program aimed at developing emotional and social resilience in children, enhancing their capacity to learn.
  • Leadership in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Education: Kelly Pulver – Evatt School – for implementing the 8ways pedagogy, which enables teachers to include Aboriginal perspectives by using Aboriginal learning techniques, and for coaching her colleagues in this approach.
  • School Leader of the Year: Cheryl Diggins – Instrumental Music Program – for developing a range of programs to enhance arts education which are accessible for all ACT public schools including specialist schools.

For more information, visit education.act.gov.au/teaching_and_learning/act_public_education_awards