ACT Australian of the Year 2020 award winners

ACT Australian of the Year 2020 award winners (left to right) Julia Rollings, Madeline Diamond, Sue Salthouse and Katrina Fanning.

02 June 2020

In these challenging and unprecedented times, the generosity, kindness, courage and resilience of Canberrans always shines through.

The Australian of the Year Awards recognise and celebrate people who go above and beyond for their communities.

Following a successful rugby league and management career, Katrina Fanning was awarded 2020 ACT Australian of the Year for her work with Aboriginal and Torres Straight Islanders, particularly women. She firmly believes that the ACT can lead the way nationally for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people outcomes, in creating and leading their own solutions.

2020 ACT Senior Australian of the Year, Sue Salthouse, is a tireless advocate for people with disabilities to enjoy equal rights and opportunities. After winning the award, Sue shared how it had renewed her strength.

“It means a lot, because I’m so proud of people with disabilities but also so sad. So sad because there’s such a gulf sometimes between what I experience as a person with disability and what other people don’t have an opportunity for.”

“It gives me renewed strength.”

Maddie Diamond won 2020 ACT Young Australian of the Year for her work as the founder and leader of Trash Mob, a youth-led community group that holds clean up initiatives and advocates for waste free solutions. As Executive Officer of SEE-Change, she also engages young people to take grassroots environmental action and provides opportunities for them in the sustainability space.

2020 Local Hero Julia Rollings has been a foster carer for over two decades – supporting 50 babies, children and young people through difficult periods of their lives. As a volunteer crisis carer, she often looks after infants who are medically fragile, withdrawing from drugs, or who have experienced significant trauma.

Do you know someone who is making an outstanding contribution to the Canberra community? You can nominate them for the 2021 Australian of the Year Awards, which are open from 1 June to 31 July 2020.

Winners of the ACT Australian of the Year Awards across four categories will go on to represent the community at the national awards in January 2021.

You can nominate an inspiring Canberran at

All Canberra

Share this article:

Subscribe to the OUR CBR newsletter

Get the latest stories in your inbox