A woman and child walk along a footpath. A blue stencil is on the path.

The blue active streets stencils can be found around another 53 ACT schools and make getting to school a breeze.

10 May 2023

An ACT Government initiative is encouraging Canberra kids to walk, scoot, skate or ride to school.

As part of the Active Streets for Schools program, this year 1,500 blue stencils are being installed on footpaths around 53 ACT schools to help students get to school in the safest and easiest way possible.

Active Streets for Schools promotes healthy habits and making physical activity part of a daily routine, which goes a long way towards improving wellbeing and reducing the prevalence of chronic diseases later in life.

Spaced every 200-300 metres, the wayfinding stencils indicate the best route to school with each beginning at a part-way point. Part-way points could be a quiet residential street, parking space at a nearby park, or a location with on-street parking which allows student drop off or pick up away from crowded school streets.

To see if your school has Active Streets for Schools, find your school in the drop down on the Transport ACT website and get your school’s ride or walk to school brochure: https://www.transport.act.gov.au/travel-options/schools

Map of streets outside Farrer Primary School with pink lines indicating Active Street routes.
Farrer Primary School ride or walk to school brochure map.

  • Giralang Primary School
  • Hawker Primary School
  • Kaleen Primary School
  • Kingsford Smith School
  • Miles Franklin Primary School
  • Southern Cross Early Childhood School
  • St. John the Apostle Primary School
  • St. Michael's Primary School
  • St. Monica's Primary School
  • St. Thomas Aquinas Primary School
  • Weetangera Primary School
  • Brindabella Christian College
  • Campbell Primary School
  • Canberra Girls Grammar School
  • Canberra Grammar School
  • Narrabundah Early Childhood School
  • North Ainslie Primary School
  • Red Hill Primary School
  • St. Benedict's Primary School
  • St. Edmund's College
  • St. Joseph's Catholic Primary School
  • St. Thomas More's Primary School
  • Saints Peter and Paul Primary School
  • Turner School
  • Yarralumla Primary School
  • Burgmann Anglican School
  • Franklin School
  • Gold Creek Primary School
  • Margaret Hendry Primary School
  • Neville Bonner Primary School
  • Ngunnawal Primary School
  • Taylor Primary School
  • Bonython Primary School
  • Charles Conder Primary School
  • Covenant Christian School
  • Gilmore Primary School
  • Gordon Primary School
  • Gowrie Primary School
  • Holy Family Primary
  • Monash Primary School
  • Namadgi School
  • St. Anthony's Primary School
  • Saint Clare of Assisi Primary School
  • St. Thomas the Apostle Catholic Primary School
  • Theodore Primary School
  • Trinity Christian School
  • Wanniassa Hills Primary School
  • Arawang Primary School
  • Canberra Christian School
  • Canberra Montessori School
  • Duffy Primary School
  • Farrer Primary School
  • Marist College
  • Torrens Primary School

Get ACT news and events delivered straight to your inbox, sign up to our email newsletter:

All Canberra

Share this article:

Subscribe to the OUR CBR newsletter

Get the latest stories in your inbox